Sunday, August 14, 2011

Last Post

So I realize I have been the worst at posting these past few months. And guess what the program is over with...thankfully

It was a great experience and I would definitely tell others to try it out for themselves. I was lucky mostly because of the great roommates that I was placed with and my job was one of the best on location. Near the end though I kinda got sick of people and dealing with simple problems and the feeling of uselessness and the constant indulgence with little work accomplishments that I really need...the useless hours...the bottom of the totem pole...the stickler managers....the unreliable bus system... the lack of spiritual highs... stupid people...late nights...early mornings... slave labor... under-appreciated...terrible costumes... hot humid weather... you get my point, I was done.
It is true I wont be able to go the parks anytime soon and the food I will definitely miss and my amazing friends, but I am ready for the next adventure in my life. Whatever that will be, I am thinking China.
Well, Have a magical life.

Sunday, June 5, 2011

June 5th

Don't worry, I haven't totally forsaken this blog. I've been distracted for some time now and can you blame me?

I guess the main thing I want to report on was that I finally got together with the designer that I have been trying to get a hold of for about six months. They took me around the department showing me what they do for their jobs and how much fun it is. It was amazing and it really got me pumped when each described a project. After the walk through I got to ask them a few questions and mainly what I got out of that is they each came from a different field except one designer. One majored in journalism while another studied some science stuff. It just means that you never know where life will lead you and I need to stop stressing over whether I will do well or do what is expected of me rather just accept where I need to be in life and what I need to be doing.

I'm getting deployed a ton too. I think I've only worked a total of five days at my normal location. They keep sending me over to another resort. Of course these resorts are Fort Wilderness and the All Star Resorts. I don't mind that much I am kinda getting use to the changing. I just miss my location.

I've only got a few months left here and I'm going to miss it naturally but at the same time this place is indulge yourself central. It is so difficult to actually save up your money here and there is so many things to distract you from actually getting real work done. That and I miss going to church, having a calling, and going to all the activities. I feel so lost here, I still read and pray and go to church but it is something so big in my life and I feel like it has been ripped out of me but I only have a few months like I said.

Well I got to go to work, and I will go to church in the evenings. Hope everyone is doing well.

Monday, May 9, 2011

May 8

I got deployed to another resort which means the other resort is short handed so the big man who decides our fate within the business reassigned me to work in the All star Resort. Only for a week, but I have heard horror stories about this location. I will survive, and do it with a smile.

Anyways the main reason I am writing (breaking my streak of laziness) is that last night I was at this resort and a guest came up with a ton of merchandise. Which is fine but it cost around $345, that is a ton of money! And the lady handed me $400 in real cash money. As I was doing this transaction I realized that it was the most amount of money I have ever held in my hand. Crazy, I feel so poor right now and at the same time I realized that the four hundred is the same amount of money I make in a month. Some lady just dropped it on stupid figurines and pens. How can anyone justify spending that much money on useless junk?

Life is getting crazy and I don't know where I am going with it. All I know right now is that I at the moment have to go catch a bus. So bye.... I will write more later

Saturday, April 23, 2011

April 24th

Happy Easter everyone,

Guess what I am going to do, that is right! Go to church then to work. that will be exciting!

Today was another crazy day in the store, because of easter we had a bunch of guests come in. Then we are also doing easter baskets which are super cute and fun to make. Too bad I have been stuck on stocking duty and will probably not get to make any of them. Tomorrow is the last day though. so we shall see if we are the top seller again for year seven.

Besides that I got another comic drawn out and am trying my hardest to improve though I am not sure how I'm going to do that.

That is all that I can think up of today.

ttfn

Thursday, April 21, 2011

April 20ish

These past two day's I have had off, and I have tried to use them accordingly. First off I updated my website with a new template and finished early the illustration I needed to do for illustration Friday.

Today (21st) I went to the florida Mall, did you know that we have an M&M store, yeah it has characters and everything. It was super cool, I was about to get a picture with the M&M guy when I realized I was by myself and I really didn't want to get close to the scary creature.

I was able to find shorts that are long enough which allowed me to toss my other shorts which just so happened to have a hole in them right in the region of the buttocks. So sadly I was not able to use them in a way that would be recyclable.
Oh well.

I also bought myself an Ipod, finally. My current Ipod holds about 30gb of music and lasts a whopping hour and a half. With the new one I will be able to put all my music on it and it will last 36 hours. Can you imagine it, 36 hours and I don't have to listen to the psycho's on the bus. I can listen to all my Harry Potter books while I am working on art. Oh the amazing possibilities!

Anyways I work tomorrow which is a good thing cause I now don't have ANY money and will at some point need to buy food and stuff. But yeah I think that I am going to start saving more of my pay check for master's degree. not that I'm making that much but a little at a time wont hurt and hopefully help.

That is all for now. Hope everyone's lives are bright and beautiful. Ta ta for now

Monday, April 18, 2011

April 17th

The 17th was great at work, we are starting to make Easter Baskets for Easter this coming weekend. I got to make two of the presentation one and that was fun because I was allowed to use my creative side. I miss doing that.

Also we had a couple of people that were from Lyon, France visit the store so I was able to speak french with them and it felt wonderful. At first I could speak well, because I was so excited about speaking french and with real french people not these crazy Canadians who only pretend to really speak french. They knew the location where I used to live and I also got to talk about my mission. The whole thing was amazing.

Then at the end one of the other workers got sick and went home. So I had to pick up the slack and close down two registers at night. That was hectic but I felt alive with things to do.

Oh update on my life and the internet. We had a fight last night and one of us went to bed angry while the other decided to leave. So I don't have internet in my apartment anymore at the moment. But thankfully I have locations where I can visit with other internet providers. Its okay cause my internet at home is quite lazy and slightly retarded. I just don't know how I will ever be able to connect to skype so my home teaching will just have to wait. oh well. Okay I need to go and distract myself so all have a stupendous day :)

Friday, April 15, 2011

April 15th or whatever

Hello... yeah sorry....
well, my friends from BYUI are going home today and I have to say I am missing everyone already. One of my good friends Kayli was one of them. We tried to go out to do miniature golf for a last fling but yeah that is a fun story.

So here it is: We set out to get to the Blizzard Beach winter wonderland golf course. We started in Magic kingdom, the day was beautiful, I had a blue bird on my shoulder. Well as soon as kayli got off work for the last time we headed to the transportation information guy to ask which bus we should take to get to the golf course. He told us we had to get to a resort and from there catch another bus. When we got to the resort, we stopped the downtown Disney bus and the driver told us to catch a bus to animal kingdom to catch another bus to get to the golf course. I didn't want to commute the whole way and there was a service phone at the stop. So we called the front desk and they said that we should take a downtown Disney bus. I told her we just talked to a downtown Disney bus and they told us to catch an animal kingdom bus, she said that the animal kingdom buses were not going cause the park is closed and we should take a Hollywood studios bus because it is closer. We took her advice and waited for a Hollywood studios bus and when that bus arrived the driver stopped us and asked where we were going. When we told him he said not to take his bus because Hollywood studios is closed. At that point we gave up, we waited for the next bus to stop and we would just go to the park it was headed to just so we could do something before the fireworks. Well the next bus was for Epcot and as we sat down the speaker on the bus informed us that we would first be stopping at Blizzard Beach and then we would go to Epcot. We just laughed about it and said forget it, we were hungry and just wanted to eat in Germany and CHina and so we did. It is safe to say I have lost all confidence in the transportation system over here and can't wait to get back into a town where I know it well enough that I can walk there if I really wanted to.

Anyways besides that amazing story I don't have much to talk about, I am going to buy a new Ipod next week after my next paycheck and I am super excited about it, we get free engravings but I really don't know what I should engrave on it, I was thinking of a scripture or some inspirational quote or something so random all it can do is leave you wondering about my sanity. hehe this aught to be fun.

Well hopefully I will have some musings tomorrow, till then :_)

Monday, April 11, 2011

April 10th

Today was Sunday, and I was blessed enough to be able to go to all of church. The testimonies were strong and the lessons were very good. The RS lesson was on lying, the teacher asked us what the world would be like if everyone was perfectly honest. I commented that Disneyland would probably cease to exhist as it being based on 'magic'. We had a pretty good discussion and somehow they tied in Santa Claus and it being okay to lie to children. In the end, I had to relent and call it okay.

On the way back from church, I was in a group of me, my roommate, and this guy I had an interesting discussion with a few weeks prior. That discussion had been burned into my memory and a waste of my time even though I was stuck on a bus and had no where else to go. Coming back to the present, this kid kept asking me what he should do for his future, he wants to be a producer but bYUI doesn't have a film major. So I told him that he should find another school, he said no he wants to stay at bYUI. So I told him he then has to get an MFA in film or something but he just was refusing everything I was telling him he should do. Most of the time I just said to figure that out for himself. He acted as though he was a premie, but he has been on a mission. Ugh, I wish I could truly explain the whole situation. I just wanted to laugh the whole time but I realized that would be rude so I didn't.

After church I thought I would get some reading done but passed out on my bed instead and woke up in time to catch my bus. Work went quickly and I got home in time to catch the ending of the film my roommate was sleeping through. Night to all!

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

April 6th

Yeah for Days off!!!
And surprisingly enough I was productive and got a few things done, not everything that I wanted to do but plenty that I needed to get done.

The morning was crazy because we had another of those loud scary thunderstorms, I mean it sounded like bombs were going off outside. It was cool but scary. Almost like when we were getting tornado warnings a week ago but at least it will last only a day, this time.

I made homemade Oreo cookies and my roommate and I had a wonderful discussion on how it would be wonderful it we could just die from cookies. It would be the most pleasant of deaths.

For the afternoon I had a friend invite me to go to fantasmic with her, and normally to get into this show you have to show up an hour early just to get in line. I thought I had time to run down to Downtown Disney to get a pretzel and grab a bus to Hollywood, but there are no connecting buses to Hollywood, just one to the resort so I had to do that. This left me with only a half an hour to get to my friend. I went to the front where there was a line already forming for the next show. Crazy but the guy at the front of the line gave me a pass so that I could get in and she was on the very front row.

Finished off the day with Tangled, (love that movie) and also attacking my roommate in her bed (she deserved it)
till next time

Monday, April 4, 2011

Pics with the family

My Family and I going to Universal



Me and My sister



Me and My brother

April 4th and then some

Hello and long time no see,

let me see if I can sum up what I have been up too for the past few weeks.
Well for the most part it was spent with my gorgeous family, we went to the parks and Harry Potter World and I got to see my nieces and I got to meet my nephew. They had a blast and it was so good to spend the time with them.

The next few days after they all departed it rained, both physically and emotionally. I returned home and the first thing my roommates commented on was how loud of an eater I was. Then work was crazy with the schedule being all over the place. They also sent me on a wild goose chase in the early morning because someone forgot to tell me that the behind the scenes tour at the haunted mansion got canceled. It wasn't too bad cause I got to walk around the Magic Kingdom when there was no crowd and I got to see all the lights so it was actually quite nice.

Fun conference weekend, because of my work I wasn't able to go to any of the sessions except the last and I barely made that one. Originally my manager asked me to extend on Sunday which rarely happens, after I first agreed I realized by saying yes I would not be able to go to any of conference. So I went back to my manager and asked him not to extend me. He said that he really needed me so would I be willing to extend for a little bit. Well this gave me an hour to get to the church. In any other location that would be fine but for where I was at, it normally took 40 minutes to get to the bus (that I could miss and wasted 30 more minutes) that can get me to the location where I can be picked up for church which I will not have a ride. So as soon as I was off work I booked it to the docks at the lake, took a boat to the neighboring resort where I caught a monorail just in time to get the TTC where I was supposed to catch my bus to get to the church bus stop. I missed the bus, but it was late so I actually caught it. When I got to West Clock (the place where we normally get rides to church) I started walking, I had fifteen minutes to get to the building and it is normally a five minute drive. It was hot and there was no walkway just grass and a couple of time I had to jump over ditch which possibly had crocodiles in it but I made it to church with five minutes to spare. Miracle, it was awesome! I'm downloading the rest of conference so I can listen to it on my way to work and all that.

But back to the present today is my Friday, I am going to have the next two days off. I am hoping to get many things done and be very productive. Mainly because I feel like I have been playing for much too long.

Today was good though, work went pretty well. I had one crazy lady get angry at me because the machine charged her 4 dollars in tax. What was I supposed to do and really did she have to feel like she was exempt? oh well the crazy ones make life interesting. After I got off work today I ran over to the magic Kingdom to get a Pineapple flout to start my weekend off with a bang and on my way back I ran into three very loud but awesome people. Listening to their stories made me laugh, cringe and cry. That is one cool thing I think is great from this program: meeting people. Too bad most of the time I am too tired to talk. It should all work out then, I'll just keep myself hopped up on sugar. Now I am home and ready for bed....or until my roommate gets off the phone we shall see.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

March 22-28th

So My family cam into town and we all went to the parks here and it was a blast, we woke up in the early in the morning, spent all day in the parks and came home to go to bed quite exhausted. The first part of the week we had energy at night to play games but by the end of the week we cam home and fell in bed. It was so fun and I really am going to miss the little ones and my siblings. But now it is time to get back to work. I might go into more detail about the week later... more then likely not cause right now I got to go. After a long week I need to go to work to pay for it.

Friday, March 18, 2011

March 18th

Happy St Patrick's Day, a day late but it still works

I forgot about the holiday completely too, until I got to work and someone had brought green cupcakes. hehe whoops.
Today was stressful like no other mainly because I was closing again and that meant stress and me swearing in french. I was alone and my poor sick manager had to deal with my ignorance and stupidity. I was of course late but I got a ride home where I got to get to know my manager a little more. That part was actually good, I learned a bit about him and how he had a terrible 1st wife that was Mormon. To me she sounded psychotic but at the same time I knew where she was coming from because I am from that same culture. I know what she was trying to do but I also have seen the other side and I realize (whether this just means I will have a nice place in the lower kingdom) that we don't need to follow to the T some of the cultural rules put on us as members.

I am not saying that going to church is something we can do only 50% of the time. No, you need to go to church and follow the Commandments and uphold the covenants that we have taken. What I am talking about is that idea of being married right outside of high school, or being really good at family history. I hate the idea of 'flirt to convert' or 'he will change for me' both are very selfish but are taken up by many girls at the BYU universities. Especially those looking for their MRS degrees. I am finally out of that overpowering culture and now more then ever I am seeing the direct disaster that it is.

I guess you can say I am in a bad mood right now, mainly because of the stress I had to endure and do it with a Disney attitude. I accomplished it but without the grace that I desired. I don't understand what is going on, I have been here two months and I wish that I felt more at home but I haven't felt at home in a place since I left home in 2004. I also have this evil feeling of inadequacy, I feel with all the experience in my life and all the situations I have been in wouldn't I be better prepared for life? But I have the answers already and I don't need a lecture from anyone, so don't worry by tomorrow I will be feeling better and will probably forget everything I just wrote. If anything this is just another de-stresser along with the fudge pop I am eating.

I hope everyone is happy and healthy and hopefully in a better mood, congrats to all that have life changing events going on in their life and good luck adjusting to them.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

March 14th

I have decided I hate tinkerbell, so much.

Allow me to explain myself, I first developed a general dislike of her character when I saw peter pan. She was not a very nice person. Then I read the book and she swears like no other. But what happened today brought me to total hatred of the character.

Earlier in the day we had a class on customer service and I was a little pumped to do my best and make someones day magical. And so far it was going well. Until I met the form of Tinkerbell though larger and older and as if she had gone to seed. I don't know why this lady reminded me of that character but I should have took it like a bad omen. I helped the lady and her family and everything was going quite well until check out. Tinkerbell gave me a card that wasn't signed. It is the law to ask for ID if the card isn't signed, mainly to protect from fraudulent charges. So I proceed to ask for an id, and she says she has none but she has her room key card with her name on it. I told her that I need a photo ID. SO, she begins to get huffy and has a slight tear in her eye communicating that she has been embarrassed. I explained the law to her but she snaps and tells me to just forget it and she stepped out of line to wait for her parents who are behind her. I could totally tell that she felt like she was embarrassed by me and she takes on this whole whoa is me attitude. I then start ringing up her parents items and then ask for the total and they as well have an unsigned card. So like the good little retail person I am I ask for ID. The mom who was paying of course didn't have Id and the dad had to come up and pay because he at least had his id. Tinkerbell who now was standing next to me attacked. She said that I was ridiculous and that if I was working for her she would fire me because I was losing sales. After that I tuned her out, stuck everything in a bag; thanked them graciously and sent them on their merry way. My manager had been next to me the whole time and after the guest left she told me that I had handled the situation very well and told me good job. So I at least was in the right.

Therefore I hate Tinkerbell, the brat that she is and the personification of that horrible immature woman. It was fun though when I came home and I shared this story with my roommate, she told me about all the evil soulless guests that come through her resort as well. hehee

Thursday, March 10, 2011

March 9th


I found a toad and I played with it and it made me happy... I hope I don't due of poison.
I didn't go to the parks nor did I go to anything major today. I stayed home and watched movies and worked on an illustration that I have to finish tomorrow. I was planning on going to watch the fireworks from the polynesian resort but it started raining. But I also watched a bunch of films and accidentalyy left my flash drive at the library. Because I worked at a library and I know how many jump drives we find each day I have a folder on my jump that says : IF FOUND!!! So the lady was able to call me and I got it without any problems.
I realized yesterday how much I miss working at the library. I really want to go back and work there. Maybe someday I will go back

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

March 8th


I finally saw wicked and I was pleasently surprised. I guess I should start at the beginning.

I went to downtown disney, spent more money then I should on food and then came home to prepare for this evening. I don't know about you guys but anytime I have been anticipating something for so long there always something that stops me from obtaining that thing that I want. For example, tonight. I have been waiting to see this musical since I was in highschool. I still remember my friend Rachel showing me the soundtrack. So this evening I was on time and waiting to get loaded on the bus and I had this feeling like this was too good to be true that something was bound to happen where we would not get to our destination. I started talking to a fellow participant and voiced my concern. I said that the bus might break down or we might get lost. She just laughed at me and said to basically shut up about it. Well guess what happen. That is right about half way there the bus pulls off to the side and shuts off.

My friend looked at me at this point and said that I jinxed us. But hey nothing a little prayer can help with. And in about fifteen minutes we were back up and running. The play was amazing. It made sense of the soundtrack I have been listening to for the past six years and I am very happy with the ending. I seriously thought she died because that is what happens in the book. I hate the book, LOVE the play. So much better and more magical and better. yeah.

Now it is late, good evening.

Monday, March 7, 2011

March 6th

So I keep missing days and I am sorry but I think it will possibly be a pattern for the future.
I have good news though, I finally got to go to a full three hours of church. The first time in a month. It felt good, I was inspired and uplifted. Whoopie!
I still feel slightly anti social and it doesn't help that half the time I am by myself....though I kinda like it by myself because then I don't have to deal with stupid people. OH the positives and negatives of the social scene.

Oh funny story, yesterday after work we were standing waiting for our ride. It was me and Michelle, the girl I have been working with for the past month, and two girls that just started and they are both from china. Michelle this white shirt on that is totally see through. One remarked to Michelle that 'her shirt is too sexy' the other smiled and said 'yeah, it is transparent' they both laughed amongst themselves, I think more for the fact that they were able to communicate what they were saying. Michelle just smiled and said 'there is nothing wrong with that.' I held my tongue, I already that night have been accused of going to heaven and everyone else going to hell. I really want to tell her that it isn't okay and that she is setting herself up to be nothing but an object for sleazy men to look out, no better than a hooker on the street. But of course I didn't say that because that would just make for awkward conversation and probably lose the two poor Chinese girls trying to grasp the English language.

Oh how fun is life, even though I feel like all I want to do at this moment is return home and quite this dead end job, and start illustrating. But I will endure through it, just like all the difficult things I got to go through in life and in truth, I really don't have such a bad situation. It could be a lot worse, I am just frustrated and tired because of last night. I had to close and they left me by myself and I felt like I was screwing up everyhing and I had no help from anyone and I kept hitting road block and and and I need to calm down.

I am going to bed again

Saturday, March 5, 2011

March 4th

Well this was a frustratingly annoying day, or at least it started that way. I went to send off my portfolio to dreamworks, I had everything ready oh but then when I got there the post office's credit card swipy thing was down. So I went to a nearby ATM and even that was down. So basically because of transportation time was over an hour I basically wasted three hours of my life. I was so frustrated and angry I went out and bought candy and then I had to get to work.
I have decided I hate the 'hello, how are you?' greeting. Because you have to lie, you can't tell a guest that you are having a crappy day in response. You must say good or fine because that is the common don't talk to me response. At least it rained today so their vacation was spoiled, bwahaha.
It was kinda nice that it rained because then more people came to the store and I was kept busy the whole time which made the whole day better. So I guess in a round about way things are good for someone else. Now I just have to figure out how me not getting to send off my portfolio good for someone else.
Well ta ta for now

Friday, March 4, 2011

March 2nd -3rd

The last few days have been fun. I had them off so that meant vacation to the parks. I spent both my days at Epcot and this time not by myself. The first time I was with my friend Cherika and the next day I was with my roommate Victoria.
The second day I went to Epcot they were having the flower festival. This will go until I think the end of April so my family will be able to enjoy it too when they come at the end of March. That is if they want to go there.
At work they have been keeping me on stock which is fine because it makes the time fly by. But I kinda miss the interaction I get with the guests. I finally worked with the head of stocking and after a while one of my coworkers came up to me to tell me that Frank (the head stocker) was really impressed with me. He said that Frank was impressed about how I do what he says and I don't ask how to do things after I have been shown. Don't get me wrong, I am a little flattered but I have worked one of these jobs before and my observation is that not a lot of people have a good work ethic. It amazes people all the time that I am willing to work and that when I do things I try my hardest to do it exactly like I have been told. Is this really that hard for other people. What is happening to our society that when you do the minimum people are impressed. Sad really.
I got off early from work so I went grocery shopping and I saved money by going to Disney's Discount store but I spent a bit too much on a gift for someone else. But it was worth it. I just hope that my parents will have room in their luggage for all the stuff I am finding.
hehe, well tomorrow is another day

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

March 1st

I have discovered something that has been here in Disney World for some time but has gone under my radar because of my fears.
Disney Characters, I'm not sure why but I have discovered that I have a subconscious fear of the masked characters. You don't know who is under that costume. How do you know if the bunny you are hugging is even a boy or a girl? Creepy!

But yesterday, my friend from Efy (Cherika) wanted to actually wait in line with squealing and crying little children to meet the face characters. As we waited in line I could feel my apprehension growing. I thought up methods of escape but how could I get away with all the little ones staring me down and my friend's excitement of getting her own autograph book signed.

The first character was The fairy Godmother from Cinderella, and I was actually okay with that, it was just an old lady in a shiny costume. Nothing frightening about that. We got our picture taken then before I knew it, Cherika spotted the two step sisters and step mom from the same movie. I went through baby steps and got in line. Surprisingly the characters were funny, and played the part of the characters nicely. I still didn't know what to do or say for that matter. I think it all comes down to your parents teaching you never to talk to strangers.

My mind won't release me from that idea that these characters are different people then what they are showing. But it is fun to watch them interact with the kids and it is very clever of what they come up with to say. We met Mulan, for example, and she asked if we had any warriors with us but we responded that they were MIA, she told us that we should be proud that we are capable of being on our own, that we can take it. The when we met Snow White she commented on how sunburnt Cherika was. Very clever.

So I will relent and give them props for being good actors but I don't think I will ever get over my aversion to them.

Monday, February 28, 2011

February 27th

I am going to Wicked!!!!! I got the day off that I wanted and now I can go!!! I am so excited, I have wanted to go for five years and finally the fates have aligned and all is well. I am ecstatic and I am going to start listening to the soundtrack again ( I got a little bitter before).

I wish I had a good story for yesterday, I went to church and met another ex EFY councilor, he asked me why I wasn't going to do it again... I told him I was tired. The experience was definitely worth it but I think I might kill myself (because I would want to do everything perfectly) if I tried again. I again could only go to an hour of church or I would be late to work but my manager talked to me and we got it sorted out that if I started at six in the afternoon then I would be able to go for the three hours. YAH!

I guess the only crazy thing that happened was me training for closing, they said that I would be on my own after today but I don't think that is too smart. I am not ready yet but they think I am so, we shall see tomorrow.

The rest of my work day I was stocking the clothes. Not exciting at all. I will keep my eyes out for a funny story tomorrow.

Sunday, February 27, 2011

February 24-26th

Okay so I realize I am kinda behind and I really can't remember all the details of these last few days. All that I really can remember is being really tired.
My two previous days my schedule had me come in at 5:30 am, that is in the morning and because of buses here I had to wake up at least two hours before. So that meant 3am, how disgusting is that. It was only bad the first day though cause I wasn't use to it. The first day too was a ten hour shift as well, so I basically came home and then went to bed to get ready for the next day.
The day after that I went to work and they moved locations on me so I had to act like the retard again not knowing where half the things were in the store along with not knowing the area. Thankfully that evening I went out with my roommates and relaxed at typhoon lagoon and then we ate dinner at Magic Kingdom. It was an expensive hambuger. I wish I could have gone to Red Robin and paid half that much for a better burger but it was time spent with friends so it was worth it. Especially since the whole time we were eating we were being sung to by an alien. We ended the evening by riding splash mountain like three times.
Good time but by the time we got home I was about to collapse, still am feeling it. And I got work today.
ciao la

Thursday, February 24, 2011

February 23rd

Yeah I went to the water park today for a few hours before work. Just to relax a little and the fact that this is the last week that we can go for free. After this week we can get in only for half price. I am poor and I don't want to spend money on something I normally should get for free. grr
I am so excited to turn my white legs into a beautiful tan color....or more then likely burn them. But at least they are getting some sun especially since the last five years I have been dutifully following the BYU-I dress code and always wearing pants. I might have to go out and actually buy shorts! Yipiie
I was trained for closing again last night and the lady training me started counting my mistakes and making a buzzing noise every time I did something wrong. But near the end they were all telling me that it would be okay and I will be able to do everything soon without too many problems.
Well I got to go.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

February 22nd

I finished another book today, I swear those bus rides are the longest things in the world but at least they are there.
Okay crazy story for the day. I was on stocking duty which just means that I am supposed to put the product on the floor. And as I was working on the grocery part of the store I heat someone say my name. It was one of my coworkers, she said that they had a spill and she needed me to clean it up. So I went over to cover for her and she came back with towels and gave them to me. When I got to the spot the are looked like a war zone and the weapon of choice was a half gallon of milk. It was everywhere, on the wall, the toys and of coarse the floor. After cleaning that up I thought that was the last I would see of the attack of the milk. Nope, later on that evening we had a major spillage in the cooler. At least seven more half gallons had holes in their bases and it had spilt all over the floor of the cooler. I never thought milk could have a revenge but it can happen. So beware of the milk!
Besides that I was kept longer then I normally would because they wanted to train me to close the shop. That was good for my hours and all but now I am tired.
Ta ta for now

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

February 21st

I had a wonderful day off where I did chores the whole day long and basically didn't do anything that would surprise or amaze you other then considering to start a new comic then forgetting to get the paper at the store when I stopped there. Annoyances!
The comic will probably be a mirror of what I am going through now but each of the people that the main character will work with will be personified by an animal and now I just got to get some ideas of plot and purpose. If anything it will be a great distraction from the long hours after work where I sit and watch movies.
hmmm, I cleaned today and that was nice to have the apartment small like pinesol.... okay now I am grabbing for ideas to talk about.
Well I work tomorrow so I am bound to have some good stories then.
till next time :)

Monday, February 21, 2011

February 20th

I worked on Sunday again, and I only had a half hour of church. I feel so apostate! My poor brother was shocked when I told him. But what can I do, I signed up for this treatment and I really hope it will open something up soon, if not oh well. I am having fun.
Truthfully I don't mind where I am at right now, sure I work with a bunch of bitter old people and work for a bunch of spoiled children; but I actually am quite amused by it all.
Oh here is a happy ending I found an online service that will make a book for me of my portfolio so all is well here. I am very excited to see how it will turn out.
Yeah that is all for today :)

Sunday, February 20, 2011

february 19th

Whoops, skipped a day again....I don't even remember missing it too...sad day....or possibly a happy day, I am not sure.
hmmm.... Well yesterday was frustrating. I have been working on the portfolio I am going to send to DreamWorks (the company who made shrek and Kung fu panda) but all the professional print shops are closed by the time I am off work or when my ride is off work and now I think I might have to go online for printing but I am not sure if I really want to do that but we shall see... I must get it off by March or......bad....things.....will.....happen!!!!
I have also decided that I eat too much junk food, So I am going to try to take it out of my diet. This will be a challenge.
Hey guess what it is getting hot here, it was 80 degrees yesterday and I haven't heard what it is today. But it will be fun to wear shorts (hahaha, no more dress code to follow!!!) and then maybe my blindingly white legs will turn a color that wont glow in the dark. Or they will burn and I will probably cry.
Oh and I love Office Depot despite the fact that their printers went wack on me and wouldn't print my pictures. There were a bunch of lines going through the larger of the pages and each time we tried to change it they wouldn't go away. But instead of charging me for the 50 pages the guy printed he just gave me everything and wished me the best. Great customer service. The guy there was really nice too cause he further told us (Angela and me) about the type of weather to suspect when it becomes hot. I am not sure I am going to survive. I have never experienced heat like what he described. So if I hope I can come home at least medium rare rather then well done.
More and more I am surprised at the children I have to work with each day. Most of the time the kids are normal and just ask their parents for things then when the parents say no then they go back and put it back. But no there are many also who grab and the parents have to pry the toy from their grip.
I had one girl the wanted to buy a pin and this particular pin was 9.95, she gave me a dollar and 4 pennies. Then her mom told her she needed to give me her two fives as well. She protested and said she didn't want to give me her two fives, because she already gave me her one. Her mom tried to work with her and said to give me one of her fives and then she would give me a twenty. The girl put back both her fives in her small wallet while the mom took out her twenty. Her mom paid for it, but then the kid grabs the change and said that that money was hers too. The mom took the change from her and tried to explain that it wasn't the girls. The girl started freaking out, claiming because she gave her one and pennies she should get the change. Her grandmother told me that they were trying to teach her about money. But I could hear the girl screaming at her mom all the way across the lobby. All this makes me feel like is what kind of mom would I be and would the kids I will have be as much a brat as some of these children. blah
Abyways I think this is enough for you all to read....if there is anyone else who actually reads this. (other then Melinda)

Friday, February 18, 2011

February 17th

It was another day off and instead of going to the parks or attempting to kill myself with exhaustion again, I stayed home and worked on the projects that I have been so afraid to start.
It was back to art, I spent a good six hours working on the portfolio that I will send to DreamWorks. I also wrote my first cover letter and updated my resume. I am not sure they are any good but I sent them to my daddy to review. Hopefully I will stand out enough to make a difference.
I am still in the process of being approved for the day off of work when I go see wicked. The little approval thing put me on the waiting list and that does not bode well for me. Let me see if I can change that, my roommates says I should just call in and not go to work. That is just not me!
In any case, I didn't move much today but I got lots done.

Thursday, February 17, 2011

February 16th

It was the last day that we (cast members) had our 40% off discount on any store in Disney. After today it goes back down to 20%. So guess what I did. That is right I shopped and in attempting to shop I discovered that I can't shop. I see something I pick it up, I think it is cute, then I start reasoning with myself why I don't need it and that I really won't like it in a few years. I guess that is a good trait it just doesn't help the whole use the 40% off while I can.
The one thing I wanted was a sweatshirt that has all the villains in a comic book style of art. So I thought I would be able to find it in Downtown Disney, nope. Okay so I tried finding it in the Magical Kingdom, nope. Finally I got to Hollywood Studios and found it, Yeah!
I also had the chance to finally see Tangled, it was really cute and I think that I am going to buy the soundtrack off Itunes. Very funny and surprisingly slightly faithful to the original Rapunzel in a turn around way, (no she does not get pregnant and have twins out in the desert) It was actually really cute how Disney put the plot together. There were a couple areas where I thought they could have improved.
After walking around in shops a little more and buying a Christmas present for my brother, I called it a day (because my feet were trying to murder me).
When I got home I curled up on the couch wishing there was a way to leave my body so all the aches would go away. I need to relax more.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

February 15th

This was a long day!
I went early again with Soeur Jensen and Monson but this time we went to Epcot. This was super fun, we went to many interesting places and I think the world showcase is the best part of the whole park. We caught the Captain EO show in 3D, I never thought I would see Michael Jackson fight evil with rainbows and sparkles that he shot with his hands. Good times.
I had to run at four to get to work on time, I was so tired though. That wasn't good cause by 12:00 I was about to fall over. I had to do stock all evening. It went quick and I literally fell into bed.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

February 14th

Happy Singles Awareness day!!!! or Happy Valentines Day!
So to celebrate this joyous day of floating hearts and pinkness, I went to animal kingdom and spent it eating food that isn't really good for me and going on rides like there was no tomorrow.
Also the biggest news of the day, I bought wicked tickets! I finally got them, and now I really hope they give me that day off. Cause if I can't go I think I might die of disappointment and bottled sadness. But I am super excited to go! (if they let me)
Soeur Monson is still here and we played all day, Soeur Jensen and Soeur Monson got their faces painted which was fun, but because I had work I couldn't. Yeah I don't think that is in the disney look unless I was the one painting faces.
I spent most of the day with my friends than I had to go to work which wasn't too bad despite the fact that I was exhausted. I made it through the night with only one disagreement with one of the new college program kids. In the end I was right and we got on with our lives.
On the bus ride home, at one in the morning I call my parents and they still ask me why I'm not in bed and if I am safe. It is actually kinda nice to have that time to call people from the other side of the USA.
that is all for now :)

Monday, February 14, 2011

February 13th

Yeah so I missed a day, it shall be forever lost in my memory.
The best news that happened for that day and today was Soeur Tiffany Monson, my daughter from the mission came to Florida. I spent the morning with her after church just reminiscing and going on a walk in mickey's retreat. It was so fun to do.
I had to go to work though so I left her in my apartment around three.
Work went well, there were a couple crazy moments but they passed. One in particular was when the lady working with me locked herself out of the system and so I was the only one who could use the cash register. That was a bit crazy.
Well I go to go, sorry for the shortness but deal with it.

Saturday, February 12, 2011

February 11th

My morning was quite productive, though I kinda feel like I am going to have to do all this work all over again. I was able to book the hotel for my family and I learned when the Wicked tickets are coming out. I am so excited for that! Hopefully I get them and then also get work off.
Speaking of work, funny story for the day, I got hit on by a drunk kid my age. He wanted to be my valentine. He asked if I was single and when I answered in the affirmative (he seemed surprised, annoyances) he then proceeeded to ask me if he bought the valentine pin if I would keep the other half of the heart. He looked like Adam Sandler and he had a towel wrapped around his waist and an empty wine glass in his hand. Well, I think I have hit an all time low for people asking me to be there valentine. (I hate singles awareness day.) In any case I respectfully declined and the rest of the night went off without a hitch. We had no stocker tonight so we rushed to fill the holes in the merchandise before we had to clock out. We made it and with flying colors.
So ends another day where dreams come true.

Friday, February 11, 2011

February 10th

It feels so good to wake up without aches and a stuffy nose. Yes, I over my cold though I still sound strange.
Well I had my first unreasonable person today, that has to be a record or something. (you would think I would have had one earlier). This lady came up with her kid and her kid wanted to get a toy. The lady was obviously getting annoyed with her child and her kid wasn't sure if he wanted to get the toy. Finally, they had it on the counter and I rang it up for them, the lady gave me her card and it wasn't signed. So if a card isn't signed we need to ask for ID, just as if it was an unsigned credit card. The lady attacked me, asking why and that she was never told to sign it and she didn't have Id, when I tried to explain it to her, she immediately snapped at me and said to forget it. She grabbed the card and left without her kid. The poor child looked around confused and slowly walked away. Arghhh, stupid people and the poor children who have to deal with them!
On a lighter note, I got off work at 1030pm instead of twelve, this allowed me to get home before one and my roommates had ordered Chinese and they were willing to share cause they had so much. That was a welcome treat.
Bed time

Thursday, February 10, 2011

February 8th & 9th

Okay I realize I am a couple of days late in this blog but I blame the horrible cold I just got over.
February 8th:
I went to the temple on the first day off; It felt so good to go back and to serve. I also went to the Magic kingdom again and that was fun, slowly but surely I will go on every ride. Splash mountain opened but I didn't feel like getting wet, that and I was feeling the cold come on. We went back to the apartment because I was getting tired, I laid down to sleep but as soon as I did this stupid bird decided it wanted to start crowing and basically not letting me sleep before the temple trip. Oh well, I then went to the temple and when I got back I watched a movie that had absolutely terrible acting in it. And thus went to bed.
February 9th:
I woke up with the symptoms of a most terrible cold. So the rest of the day I watched movies on the couch and I am very happy that it was my day off. Near the end of the day I was feeling slightly better and Soeur Jensen had offered to take me to office depot so that I could have some of my art printed for my portfolio. I felt like I could do that so we went and did that. At the store the lady who was helping my really liked my art and kept telling me I would be famous; all this did was remind me that flattery will be the end of me and that I need to keep working hard.
After we finished at the store Soeur Jensen asked if I was up for Fantasmic, cause they were playing it tonight instead of Thursday. I felt like I could do that and so we went to it and the show was absolutely amazing. Very thrilling and exciting. After the show we ran into one of my roommates and gave her a ride home.
Well I feel accomplished even though I didn't get that much done. In a way I did and there is more yet to come.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

February 7th 2011

Hey Everyone
I had cake today! My roommate was so sweet she made me tres leche cake. I loved it and we also had candles even though I am pretty sure that we were not allowed but who cares cause we didn't burn down the place and we were responsable and all. Though we did have to light the candles with the oven burner. That was fun (I got a video of it, so I will see if I can download it here.
After that wonderful morning I went to work and during which I ran into two families from Montrael and Quebec. The first family I got so excited I choked and gurgled out the little french I could manage, the lady smiled and said they would be back so that I could practice. The second family I was more prepared and I had a good conversation with them until the end. The lady asked a question and instead of saying heures like it should she said haires, which is Qu'be qoui. Well, lets just say I realized there is a difference between french from france and that of Canada. I couldn't understand the question and she had to repeat herself in english for me. I was a bit thrown again until I realized the difference. But I still wish I could have picked up on it sooner.
Oh well, the evening went smoothely and they have started training me on closing which is fairly simple.
Night has come and I think I am coming down with a cold. blah
oh well, ta ta for now

Monday, February 7, 2011

February 6th, 2011

Hey it was my birthday,
I started the day going to church, then I got home, broke my fast and went to work and didn't get home until one. I never realized how many people have their birthday on this date before until I was telling basically every fifth person happy birthday.
Oh funny story for the day:
A family came into the store (the parents with a 5 yr old girl and a grandma), the small girl immediately went for the Christmas ornaments and wanted them. The parents unsuccessfully attempted to dissuade her with an autograph book. She wouldn't relent at all and finally the father told her 'honey, we are Jewish. We don't have anything to put those on.' She still wouldn't put the ornaments down, the father then said 'what do you want to celebrate Hanukkah or Christmas.' the child responded with lifting up the Christmas ornaments again. At that point the mom took the ornaments and the grandma took the child by the hand and carried her off as the father followed; leaving me laughing under my breath.
I also got to talk with a former roommate that called me around 2am, she waited until five minutes her time to midnight to call, she made me laugh. It was okay she called then cause I really wanted to celebrate my birthday so when I got home another roommate and I put in a movie. Yeah fun party, about half way through she fell asleep and I didn't want to move to get in bed. I can't fall asleep to movies so I didn't go to bed till 4am. It was fun though to do something different.
I got a ton of well wishers for my birthday so that was really nice and I appreciate it.
well tomorrow I am off work and playing and I will try to get some pictures uploaded for you all :)

Sunday, February 6, 2011

February 5th, 2011

Amazing news everyone! My internet is finally working, my roommate's boyfriend is a genious and figured out how to fix it and now my netbeans isn't working so now I can't fix my website but I am still counting my blessings.
Today is Saturday and nothing too exciting happened, except for the comments and actions from a few of the guests that I ran into today. One lady told me that her goal for her children was that they do not grow up to become axe murders, she is setting her goals high and then there is this guy who has memorized the price of a beer because he comes in at least every two hours to buy one. That is one thing I love about this internship; the people. I also got to talk with another cast member from Brazil and we discussed the difference of America and other countries. I swear the mission is coming back in memory more and more.
Well, that is all I remember from yesterday.
ciao

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Febraury 4, 2011

Well I consider myself well established in my job. The first fifteen minutes on the job and I blocked myself from the system, among other things like: I froze the register and kept misfiling the receipts and the lady helping me decided to retrain me cause I am incompetent. But besides feeling like a complete retard I was able to correctly place the shirts in the correct order on the racks. Yeah, I am not surviving very well in the retail world. But at least my manager is taking every moment to crack jokes on my being lds and from Idaho. (he really means no harm)It is just hard cause I want to be sarcastic back but I tend to be extreme in my retorts and I don't want to do more harm then my ignorance and incompetence is showing.
I don't feel too stressed but naturally I think I am cause my subconscious is acting out. I mean through my dreams. The past few night in my dreams I have been fired either through letters or verbally and then last night I had a dream that my ipod was stolen (I wasn't that freaked about it though cause the thing only lasts about two hours before the battery dies). The point is I guess I am stress more then I am showing but I am having a good time learning and getting my footing out there.
I think my main problem is I have a ton of things to accomplish but the due date for these things are so far away I am hardly pressed to get them done and my nature just wants me to stress over them when it really isn't necessary, cause all I got to do is do them. Procrastinating is so easy though.
Ugh, I know what I got to do and I will do it....eventually.
On brighter news, only two more days until my birthday and if I have planed things right, everyone won't know about it. That and I am working on it, maybe they will give me one of the Birthday pins. That will be awesome!
Till next time

Friday, February 4, 2011

Another day where dreams come true

I finally got everything to download to my blog and I got my illustration friday to work. I am really excited about that and after that the day went pretty smoothly.
I kept screwing up at work though but everyone was very supportive and understanding. One of my bosses is from utah and he is a inactive member but he is way fun and he likes to give me a hard time because I went to BYU-I and I know the mormon lingo. Last night as we were closing he came up to me as I stumble through closing excercises and asked if I wanted to be a closer (the person in charge of money count and paper work). I said that would be fine, but I didn't feel ready quite yet. But they said I would be fine in about a month or so. So that is cool.
I need to go get some things done now, and I am sorta wired because an opportunity has cropped up that I really want to take advantage of. (actually something to do with art)
so ta ta for now

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Another Fun Night of Work



Hey everyone, I hope you all enjoyed the pictures. It will not be very often but I shall try.
So basically for work all I did was stocking, for those of you who don't know what that is, it is where you go out into the store find out what is missing, go back into the storage and put the items where they are missing. Sounds hard huh?
Yeah 8 hours of that and I was about to go crazy, but it kept me busy.
Apart from that I am surprisingly enjoying life because I found a scanner and I can use it for my art. I also found the local library and I have already checked out two items. I am not sure why I am in such a good mood today but that has to be it.
Oh on a scary note, I saw my first cockroach today. Yeah, it was lying on our front step, my roommate (the one with me up in the above picture, Sara Biers) was so kind that she got down on all fours and blew it away. (I really wish I could have gotten a picture of it.)
That was fun, hopefully we won't see any more of those nasty dudes.
Well, I am about to miss my bus therefore I got to go.
Everyone have a magical Day :)

The Wilderness Logde



This is the resort where I work, it looks like a Yellowstone lodge. But it is cute and reminds me of home a little


And this is the Mercantile, it is the shop inside of the lodge where I work. Lots of fun!

My Place


This is my cute but sadly white bathroom.


Here is my room, no I am not normally this slobbish, but I only have one blanket and I don't want to fold it nicely!


This is the view from out balcony, if you can't see the little white sign in the foreground it is telling us not to swim, yeah I am pretty sure that there are alligators in the water but it sounds really cool in the night and in the morning.


And the kitchen.

My first picture



Hey Everyone,
Well here goes my picture run. I am going to be posting pictures like no other for a while. Hope you like them. This first one is my first picture I took while in Florida.
Enjoy, I am now a new cast member in it.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Feb. 1, 2011

It was a surprise really how fun Epcot was, I really thought it would be a boring park. But they surprisingly had some fun rides and the fact that I was a single rider got me to the front of the line for most of the rides; which was nice.
So the first of february has come and now... I don't know actually. It is just another month.
Back to what I did this day. Basically walked around, but in the french pavilion I met a guy that was from Lyon, France. That was exciting, well okay it was more of him pointing himself out as from Lyon and then I had to pay for my pain au chocolate but I thought it exciting.
I took some pictures so my next blog will have pics if I can figure out how that works.
At the moment my biggest problem is finding a good printing station and also how to update my portfolio since nothing is working from my computer. It will be fixed though cause I am stubborn enough to do it.
Sorry that was all babble, Anyways after I got back from the park I watched the movie Clue and it made me laugh inside.
Wow, today was boring after all. Okay I will try to remedy that later.
Go out and do something fun yourself.

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Monday or Day off of no vacation

Monday Jan 31, 2011
Last day of January and it was an interestingly uneventful but fun. Basically all I did during the day was get angry with the internet and grocery shopping. I did however help clean the chapel here. I got to meet a bunch more people and guess what one of the people I met was from my mission, that made me excited. I also found one of my fellow counselors from EFY and a friend from my old relief society who used to make me cakes. So I am not so alone as I thought I was before. This ward as well seems very friendly and lively bordering on immature but enjoyable. I am still trying to find footing here but I have already made a couple local friends, one being Mike. He seems to be my constant ride everywhere which is nice but he is a very nice friend to have.
I wanted to go to down town Disney today but I ran out of time but I did head over to property control. This is where Disney sells all its broken outdated things. So a thirty dollar shirt will be only seven dollars. Nice, discounts! I can't wait to make the quilt that I am planning on making.
Sorry this is boring, I am going to epcot tomorrow (technically today) and hopefully I will have something more interesting to share.
signing off :)

Monday, January 31, 2011

Things are looking up

Hey,
So I was looking over my last few blog posts and I realized how negative they were. It is true that a lot of things are not going as I have planned; but I still feel as though this is the place where I should be. At least for my art career. Last night I was feeling down because of my failure at practically everything and I was on the bus (inconsistent, jerks that give me anxiety) on the way to church. I started to draw, cause I needed to and I miss it more then anything. When a voice in the background said, 'that is really good' I looked around and there was this guy hovering over my shoulder. (I am sorry the first thing I thought of when I saw him was 'can I have your number' gag.) We started talking and he said that he was a graphic designer major and was trying to look into the program here. As we talked it became clear to me as well that I needed to follow up on this and go to the animating department just to see what they offer.
My bus stop came quick though and I had to run but Chris was a lot of help. So my hopes are renewed and I am off to see the wizard again.
Another fun thing I did this week was go to the Animal Kingdom, it was amazing. So far my favorite park. The tree of life was inspiring and the shows were delightful.
Even better news: as we riding the bus home I saw my first alligator in a canal as we stopped at a sign. I was excited and my roommates made fun of me but I accomplished that dream to finally see one in the wild.
Lots more to do here and hopefully my shotty internet will allow me to tell you guys about it.

January 30th

I am sorry, this blog is turning out to be a disaster. But I blame my feakin’ internet not working still. I am so sick of not having it there. What gets me the most frustrated though is the fact that everyone else in this apartment has the internet just fine. I have a freakin’ Ethernet connection but it still isn’t connecting and the complex said that they would provide internet; but when I call their tech specialist all they can say is sorry don’t know what to do. (Muttering angrily in French). I am so angry right now. I am pretty sure that I will have to deal with crappy and unobtainable internet for the rest of this stay. Does any know how to save me from death by lack of networking!
Beside this lovely side trip I have been peachy, kinda. Disney World is a blast and it is nice to be down here. They keep me on a closing shift so now I get to sleep in every day, which is nice, and time goes faster this way too. The cost of living down here is atrocious, but living off of Walmart is fun….not; but it is survivable.
So I work at one of the resorts, the Wilderness Lodge. Picture one of the largest log cabins in Yellowstone and there you go. I work in the shop that is in the resort and so I sell merchandise to guests and pin trade when the kids want to trade. Today I got to be at the pin cart. Which is a cart where all we sell is pins. The pins are trade able metal pictures that you stick on lanyards. If you can’t tell I am trying to explain myself as best I can.
Anyways, big thing that happened this week was my brother came home from his mission. Last Friday, but I still haven’t spoke to him cause….hmm, they won’t answer the phone, they are busy with other family at home, they aren’t home, etc. You choose which you think is the best excuse.
AAhhhh Annoyances!!!! I hate being on the bottom of the totem pole!!!!

January 20th

Well my internet isn’t working at all and it is kinda annoying, but hey day two is over and all that I really did today was go to a meeting about housing and go to walmart. The meeting that I went to was interesting to say the least. It was mainly about all the things we can do to get terminated. When they got to weapons I realized that I wasn’t allowed to have a swiss knife here. (sad day, cause that is my sissors and nail clippers) but they were happy enough to send it home for me. Most of the rest of the meeting was about alcohol and where to drink it and when not to. One of my roommates said that when they got to that part it just made her thirsty.
My other roommate had a problem with some of her documentation today so we rode a bus to the building then she got a hold of the lady in charge and was told she just needed to show up tomorrow, so we just rode the bus back. Fun.
We had our first event party this evening, it was dancing so my roomaties and I got the free food and we left soon after that. I know we are so social, but after about two seconds in the mosh pit room we thought it a better idea to go home.
We finished up the day with a roommate meeting and we are just going off of the BYU-I honor code rule and yeah we are great. For some reason we got on the topic of kissing and everyone was like no French kissing. Well, I just had to ask, ‘what if I find a french guy?’
Alright time for bed.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

No news = No internet

Okay, my goal was to update this thing every day but alas, disney has decided to go the cheap way with the internet and so my internet will not work with my macbook. The internet says it is connected but none of the page load. (If anyone has ideas on how to fix this please tell me). So here is a quick update on my life at disney.
I got to my job in the wilderness lodge and I feel as though I am working at Yellowstone, cause there are geysers and logs everywhere. Everyone I work with is very nice and at least twice my age. There is one girl from Brazil that is my age but she is leaving in February. They have us smile all the time and be as courteous as possible and I think I am doing an okay job (at least I haven't lost it yet). But the truth is I am enjoying myself and I love have something to do all the time. (Though I really wish it could be art instead of retail)
The bus system here is the bane of my existence, I am happy that it is here but in order for it to work and for me to be on time I have to leave for my job 2 hours early. It is cool though only because some of the bus drivers are from Haiti so I speak French with them. Whoopie, speaking of which, I will be taking the test for French this Friday. If I pass it then I will get a special tag saying I speak French.
Well I wish I can say more but I got to go get my laundry. (yeah boring blog but hopefully when my internet starts working I will be loading pictures at that point).
I guess the one cool thing that happened this week was I found out that one of my old EFY Councilor roommates is here and so I can't wait to hang with her :)

Thursday, January 20, 2011

First Sign of Trouble

Well the first day in Orlando came and went. All we did was stand in line proving who we were and that we were not wanted in any state for a federal crime and basically giving Disney the permission to take our money... I mean pay us. Anyways I stood in line for about six hours meeting two cross dressers who worked for Disney but were very nice and funny people and basically near the end of the process I decided that I need a new wardrobe. (oh happy day, I hate shopping)
But we did go shopping and I about lost circulation in my arms because I shopped too much at walmart. Too many of those plastic bags equals pain for my arms but it also got a cute Brazilian to help me; the poor damsel in distress. It worked and I got home okay, but I realized I need to go back to walmart at I realized I freeze in the night with only one blanket and then this morning my watch died. Well back to the big Walmart. Tomorrow we have a meeting at 9:45 for housing and then we have the rest of the day but no ticket to get into Disney World till friday and I start work on saturday.
Oh yeah that reminds me! My assignment is the Wilderness Lodge in Merchandising! I am so excited!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

The Plane Ride

So today is the 18th (I am probably not going to be able to post this till a later date, but know that it was the 18th when I wrote this!), I am at the moment at the airport and am waiting to be boarded. The last few days have been fairly stressful but I am happy to say that I am packed (and yes I have been able to fit everything I need in one suitcase and a couple carry-ons). Actually, funny/stressful story about that: So I had stuff my bag to breaking point and stuffed my carry the same and I got to the airport all ready to check in and all, well I forgot about the weight limit. So the guy at the front checked my bag and I was twelve pounds overweight! It would cost me 90 dollars extra for my bag, the guy asked if I could possibly take stuff out of one bag and put it in another, well this was not an option at all. He looked at me when I told him I had no other choice then to pay and he said ‘don’t worry about it’ and checked me in. I was so relieved; the guy probably saw my exasperated look of despair and death when he told me how much it cost. I am so grateful for merciful people like him! So now I am waiting at the first gate and it is snowing like no other outside. Lets hope my luck sticks with me for the rest of the day.
>>>
Okay I am now sitting in the Orlando Airport, right next to a gigantic fish tank (sorry I can't find nemo). First off, Orlando is amazing. True I have only seen it in the dark so far but when I first saw the lights from the city I seriously thought I was looking at a lagoon or water channel. (Hey, I blame lack of sleep for my delirium)
The three flights that I had to take were surprisingly eventful. The first plane ride I gave the first lesson, the guy asked if he could get a book of Mormon after a while (still kicking myself for not being prepared) I told him next time the missionaries knock on his door that he should ask for one or find it online. I know bad me for not being prepared for that. But hey, hopefully Elijah from Burbank will find the gospel. I then got to Saltlake and jumped on a plane to Los Angeles. This flight I watched glee for the first time. I still don't know what the big deal is about. After I made another connecting flight to Orlando. On the Red Eye I was lucky enough to have no one sitting in my row so I got to move to the window, and after a while the flight attendant moved a man to the aisle seat. That was fine because Bill turned out to be a pretty nice guy, he loved talking about his business and when I told him I was interning he told me to find what I love to do and do it. The rest of the four hour flight I slept but at the end a lady turned around and confirmed with me that I was interning at Disney, when I said yes and she asked also if it was right that I was an illustrator; I again confirmed this and she then gave me her card and told me to call her and she can connect me with other art directors. That was a miracle!
I feel like I am going in the right direction right now because everything is strangely working out for the better. I am so excited to get started even if my normal time right now is 4 o'clock in the morning. I feel energized and it is not the nasty fruit cup that I bought that is supplying it.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

New header

Cool, so through the complaints of some of my friends, I realized that I should be a little more descriptive of what this blog/adventure is all about.
Okay so a few years ago I saw a flyer about the Disney World internship program and I really wanted to do it. Well, my dad said that I should finish school. Being the obedient (and obviously humble) daughter that I am, I didn't sign up for the internship. But I did my last semester at school. The moment I saw the flyers I signed up, went to the program presentation, had two interviews (internet and phone), and got accepted into the program. The whole process took a few weeks. When I received the letter, I felt like I was opening my mission call all over again. (Except this time the letter coud reject me)
I signed up to the Spring Advantage period, so I start in January and don't finish till August. My area where I will be working is Merchandising. This means they are going to stick in any of the parks in either a booth or shop selling products or food.
It has nothing to do with my degree at all, true. In my defense though, there will be enough networking opportunities that I felt it worth it. Also, I graduated college and I am so far from feeling like tackling the real world. At least this way I can play for a bit more and why not be paid for it in the process.
I am super excited for this and so I will try documenting it as hilariously as I can.
Also I just updated this blog to have a sweet new header! I do love designing the internet!
Thanks to all that are following me now, I feel special :)