Tuesday, March 15, 2011

March 14th

I have decided I hate tinkerbell, so much.

Allow me to explain myself, I first developed a general dislike of her character when I saw peter pan. She was not a very nice person. Then I read the book and she swears like no other. But what happened today brought me to total hatred of the character.

Earlier in the day we had a class on customer service and I was a little pumped to do my best and make someones day magical. And so far it was going well. Until I met the form of Tinkerbell though larger and older and as if she had gone to seed. I don't know why this lady reminded me of that character but I should have took it like a bad omen. I helped the lady and her family and everything was going quite well until check out. Tinkerbell gave me a card that wasn't signed. It is the law to ask for ID if the card isn't signed, mainly to protect from fraudulent charges. So I proceed to ask for an id, and she says she has none but she has her room key card with her name on it. I told her that I need a photo ID. SO, she begins to get huffy and has a slight tear in her eye communicating that she has been embarrassed. I explained the law to her but she snaps and tells me to just forget it and she stepped out of line to wait for her parents who are behind her. I could totally tell that she felt like she was embarrassed by me and she takes on this whole whoa is me attitude. I then start ringing up her parents items and then ask for the total and they as well have an unsigned card. So like the good little retail person I am I ask for ID. The mom who was paying of course didn't have Id and the dad had to come up and pay because he at least had his id. Tinkerbell who now was standing next to me attacked. She said that I was ridiculous and that if I was working for her she would fire me because I was losing sales. After that I tuned her out, stuck everything in a bag; thanked them graciously and sent them on their merry way. My manager had been next to me the whole time and after the guest left she told me that I had handled the situation very well and told me good job. So I at least was in the right.

Therefore I hate Tinkerbell, the brat that she is and the personification of that horrible immature woman. It was fun though when I came home and I shared this story with my roommate, she told me about all the evil soulless guests that come through her resort as well. hehee

1 comment:

  1. Bah ha ha ha ha! I remember that happening tons of times when I worked at a restaurant. My manager would stand next to me and say, "just run it anyway". I since they already ate the meal, the restaurant would rather get money from a stolen card than turn them down.

    ReplyDelete