Monday, February 28, 2011

February 27th

I am going to Wicked!!!!! I got the day off that I wanted and now I can go!!! I am so excited, I have wanted to go for five years and finally the fates have aligned and all is well. I am ecstatic and I am going to start listening to the soundtrack again ( I got a little bitter before).

I wish I had a good story for yesterday, I went to church and met another ex EFY councilor, he asked me why I wasn't going to do it again... I told him I was tired. The experience was definitely worth it but I think I might kill myself (because I would want to do everything perfectly) if I tried again. I again could only go to an hour of church or I would be late to work but my manager talked to me and we got it sorted out that if I started at six in the afternoon then I would be able to go for the three hours. YAH!

I guess the only crazy thing that happened was me training for closing, they said that I would be on my own after today but I don't think that is too smart. I am not ready yet but they think I am so, we shall see tomorrow.

The rest of my work day I was stocking the clothes. Not exciting at all. I will keep my eyes out for a funny story tomorrow.

Sunday, February 27, 2011

February 24-26th

Okay so I realize I am kinda behind and I really can't remember all the details of these last few days. All that I really can remember is being really tired.
My two previous days my schedule had me come in at 5:30 am, that is in the morning and because of buses here I had to wake up at least two hours before. So that meant 3am, how disgusting is that. It was only bad the first day though cause I wasn't use to it. The first day too was a ten hour shift as well, so I basically came home and then went to bed to get ready for the next day.
The day after that I went to work and they moved locations on me so I had to act like the retard again not knowing where half the things were in the store along with not knowing the area. Thankfully that evening I went out with my roommates and relaxed at typhoon lagoon and then we ate dinner at Magic Kingdom. It was an expensive hambuger. I wish I could have gone to Red Robin and paid half that much for a better burger but it was time spent with friends so it was worth it. Especially since the whole time we were eating we were being sung to by an alien. We ended the evening by riding splash mountain like three times.
Good time but by the time we got home I was about to collapse, still am feeling it. And I got work today.
ciao la

Thursday, February 24, 2011

February 23rd

Yeah I went to the water park today for a few hours before work. Just to relax a little and the fact that this is the last week that we can go for free. After this week we can get in only for half price. I am poor and I don't want to spend money on something I normally should get for free. grr
I am so excited to turn my white legs into a beautiful tan color....or more then likely burn them. But at least they are getting some sun especially since the last five years I have been dutifully following the BYU-I dress code and always wearing pants. I might have to go out and actually buy shorts! Yipiie
I was trained for closing again last night and the lady training me started counting my mistakes and making a buzzing noise every time I did something wrong. But near the end they were all telling me that it would be okay and I will be able to do everything soon without too many problems.
Well I got to go.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

February 22nd

I finished another book today, I swear those bus rides are the longest things in the world but at least they are there.
Okay crazy story for the day. I was on stocking duty which just means that I am supposed to put the product on the floor. And as I was working on the grocery part of the store I heat someone say my name. It was one of my coworkers, she said that they had a spill and she needed me to clean it up. So I went over to cover for her and she came back with towels and gave them to me. When I got to the spot the are looked like a war zone and the weapon of choice was a half gallon of milk. It was everywhere, on the wall, the toys and of coarse the floor. After cleaning that up I thought that was the last I would see of the attack of the milk. Nope, later on that evening we had a major spillage in the cooler. At least seven more half gallons had holes in their bases and it had spilt all over the floor of the cooler. I never thought milk could have a revenge but it can happen. So beware of the milk!
Besides that I was kept longer then I normally would because they wanted to train me to close the shop. That was good for my hours and all but now I am tired.
Ta ta for now

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

February 21st

I had a wonderful day off where I did chores the whole day long and basically didn't do anything that would surprise or amaze you other then considering to start a new comic then forgetting to get the paper at the store when I stopped there. Annoyances!
The comic will probably be a mirror of what I am going through now but each of the people that the main character will work with will be personified by an animal and now I just got to get some ideas of plot and purpose. If anything it will be a great distraction from the long hours after work where I sit and watch movies.
hmmm, I cleaned today and that was nice to have the apartment small like pinesol.... okay now I am grabbing for ideas to talk about.
Well I work tomorrow so I am bound to have some good stories then.
till next time :)

Monday, February 21, 2011

February 20th

I worked on Sunday again, and I only had a half hour of church. I feel so apostate! My poor brother was shocked when I told him. But what can I do, I signed up for this treatment and I really hope it will open something up soon, if not oh well. I am having fun.
Truthfully I don't mind where I am at right now, sure I work with a bunch of bitter old people and work for a bunch of spoiled children; but I actually am quite amused by it all.
Oh here is a happy ending I found an online service that will make a book for me of my portfolio so all is well here. I am very excited to see how it will turn out.
Yeah that is all for today :)

Sunday, February 20, 2011

february 19th

Whoops, skipped a day again....I don't even remember missing it too...sad day....or possibly a happy day, I am not sure.
hmmm.... Well yesterday was frustrating. I have been working on the portfolio I am going to send to DreamWorks (the company who made shrek and Kung fu panda) but all the professional print shops are closed by the time I am off work or when my ride is off work and now I think I might have to go online for printing but I am not sure if I really want to do that but we shall see... I must get it off by March or......bad....things.....will.....happen!!!!
I have also decided that I eat too much junk food, So I am going to try to take it out of my diet. This will be a challenge.
Hey guess what it is getting hot here, it was 80 degrees yesterday and I haven't heard what it is today. But it will be fun to wear shorts (hahaha, no more dress code to follow!!!) and then maybe my blindingly white legs will turn a color that wont glow in the dark. Or they will burn and I will probably cry.
Oh and I love Office Depot despite the fact that their printers went wack on me and wouldn't print my pictures. There were a bunch of lines going through the larger of the pages and each time we tried to change it they wouldn't go away. But instead of charging me for the 50 pages the guy printed he just gave me everything and wished me the best. Great customer service. The guy there was really nice too cause he further told us (Angela and me) about the type of weather to suspect when it becomes hot. I am not sure I am going to survive. I have never experienced heat like what he described. So if I hope I can come home at least medium rare rather then well done.
More and more I am surprised at the children I have to work with each day. Most of the time the kids are normal and just ask their parents for things then when the parents say no then they go back and put it back. But no there are many also who grab and the parents have to pry the toy from their grip.
I had one girl the wanted to buy a pin and this particular pin was 9.95, she gave me a dollar and 4 pennies. Then her mom told her she needed to give me her two fives as well. She protested and said she didn't want to give me her two fives, because she already gave me her one. Her mom tried to work with her and said to give me one of her fives and then she would give me a twenty. The girl put back both her fives in her small wallet while the mom took out her twenty. Her mom paid for it, but then the kid grabs the change and said that that money was hers too. The mom took the change from her and tried to explain that it wasn't the girls. The girl started freaking out, claiming because she gave her one and pennies she should get the change. Her grandmother told me that they were trying to teach her about money. But I could hear the girl screaming at her mom all the way across the lobby. All this makes me feel like is what kind of mom would I be and would the kids I will have be as much a brat as some of these children. blah
Abyways I think this is enough for you all to read....if there is anyone else who actually reads this. (other then Melinda)

Friday, February 18, 2011

February 17th

It was another day off and instead of going to the parks or attempting to kill myself with exhaustion again, I stayed home and worked on the projects that I have been so afraid to start.
It was back to art, I spent a good six hours working on the portfolio that I will send to DreamWorks. I also wrote my first cover letter and updated my resume. I am not sure they are any good but I sent them to my daddy to review. Hopefully I will stand out enough to make a difference.
I am still in the process of being approved for the day off of work when I go see wicked. The little approval thing put me on the waiting list and that does not bode well for me. Let me see if I can change that, my roommates says I should just call in and not go to work. That is just not me!
In any case, I didn't move much today but I got lots done.

Thursday, February 17, 2011

February 16th

It was the last day that we (cast members) had our 40% off discount on any store in Disney. After today it goes back down to 20%. So guess what I did. That is right I shopped and in attempting to shop I discovered that I can't shop. I see something I pick it up, I think it is cute, then I start reasoning with myself why I don't need it and that I really won't like it in a few years. I guess that is a good trait it just doesn't help the whole use the 40% off while I can.
The one thing I wanted was a sweatshirt that has all the villains in a comic book style of art. So I thought I would be able to find it in Downtown Disney, nope. Okay so I tried finding it in the Magical Kingdom, nope. Finally I got to Hollywood Studios and found it, Yeah!
I also had the chance to finally see Tangled, it was really cute and I think that I am going to buy the soundtrack off Itunes. Very funny and surprisingly slightly faithful to the original Rapunzel in a turn around way, (no she does not get pregnant and have twins out in the desert) It was actually really cute how Disney put the plot together. There were a couple areas where I thought they could have improved.
After walking around in shops a little more and buying a Christmas present for my brother, I called it a day (because my feet were trying to murder me).
When I got home I curled up on the couch wishing there was a way to leave my body so all the aches would go away. I need to relax more.

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

February 15th

This was a long day!
I went early again with Soeur Jensen and Monson but this time we went to Epcot. This was super fun, we went to many interesting places and I think the world showcase is the best part of the whole park. We caught the Captain EO show in 3D, I never thought I would see Michael Jackson fight evil with rainbows and sparkles that he shot with his hands. Good times.
I had to run at four to get to work on time, I was so tired though. That wasn't good cause by 12:00 I was about to fall over. I had to do stock all evening. It went quick and I literally fell into bed.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

February 14th

Happy Singles Awareness day!!!! or Happy Valentines Day!
So to celebrate this joyous day of floating hearts and pinkness, I went to animal kingdom and spent it eating food that isn't really good for me and going on rides like there was no tomorrow.
Also the biggest news of the day, I bought wicked tickets! I finally got them, and now I really hope they give me that day off. Cause if I can't go I think I might die of disappointment and bottled sadness. But I am super excited to go! (if they let me)
Soeur Monson is still here and we played all day, Soeur Jensen and Soeur Monson got their faces painted which was fun, but because I had work I couldn't. Yeah I don't think that is in the disney look unless I was the one painting faces.
I spent most of the day with my friends than I had to go to work which wasn't too bad despite the fact that I was exhausted. I made it through the night with only one disagreement with one of the new college program kids. In the end I was right and we got on with our lives.
On the bus ride home, at one in the morning I call my parents and they still ask me why I'm not in bed and if I am safe. It is actually kinda nice to have that time to call people from the other side of the USA.
that is all for now :)

Monday, February 14, 2011

February 13th

Yeah so I missed a day, it shall be forever lost in my memory.
The best news that happened for that day and today was Soeur Tiffany Monson, my daughter from the mission came to Florida. I spent the morning with her after church just reminiscing and going on a walk in mickey's retreat. It was so fun to do.
I had to go to work though so I left her in my apartment around three.
Work went well, there were a couple crazy moments but they passed. One in particular was when the lady working with me locked herself out of the system and so I was the only one who could use the cash register. That was a bit crazy.
Well I go to go, sorry for the shortness but deal with it.

Saturday, February 12, 2011

February 11th

My morning was quite productive, though I kinda feel like I am going to have to do all this work all over again. I was able to book the hotel for my family and I learned when the Wicked tickets are coming out. I am so excited for that! Hopefully I get them and then also get work off.
Speaking of work, funny story for the day, I got hit on by a drunk kid my age. He wanted to be my valentine. He asked if I was single and when I answered in the affirmative (he seemed surprised, annoyances) he then proceeeded to ask me if he bought the valentine pin if I would keep the other half of the heart. He looked like Adam Sandler and he had a towel wrapped around his waist and an empty wine glass in his hand. Well, I think I have hit an all time low for people asking me to be there valentine. (I hate singles awareness day.) In any case I respectfully declined and the rest of the night went off without a hitch. We had no stocker tonight so we rushed to fill the holes in the merchandise before we had to clock out. We made it and with flying colors.
So ends another day where dreams come true.

Friday, February 11, 2011

February 10th

It feels so good to wake up without aches and a stuffy nose. Yes, I over my cold though I still sound strange.
Well I had my first unreasonable person today, that has to be a record or something. (you would think I would have had one earlier). This lady came up with her kid and her kid wanted to get a toy. The lady was obviously getting annoyed with her child and her kid wasn't sure if he wanted to get the toy. Finally, they had it on the counter and I rang it up for them, the lady gave me her card and it wasn't signed. So if a card isn't signed we need to ask for ID, just as if it was an unsigned credit card. The lady attacked me, asking why and that she was never told to sign it and she didn't have Id, when I tried to explain it to her, she immediately snapped at me and said to forget it. She grabbed the card and left without her kid. The poor child looked around confused and slowly walked away. Arghhh, stupid people and the poor children who have to deal with them!
On a lighter note, I got off work at 1030pm instead of twelve, this allowed me to get home before one and my roommates had ordered Chinese and they were willing to share cause they had so much. That was a welcome treat.
Bed time

Thursday, February 10, 2011

February 8th & 9th

Okay I realize I am a couple of days late in this blog but I blame the horrible cold I just got over.
February 8th:
I went to the temple on the first day off; It felt so good to go back and to serve. I also went to the Magic kingdom again and that was fun, slowly but surely I will go on every ride. Splash mountain opened but I didn't feel like getting wet, that and I was feeling the cold come on. We went back to the apartment because I was getting tired, I laid down to sleep but as soon as I did this stupid bird decided it wanted to start crowing and basically not letting me sleep before the temple trip. Oh well, I then went to the temple and when I got back I watched a movie that had absolutely terrible acting in it. And thus went to bed.
February 9th:
I woke up with the symptoms of a most terrible cold. So the rest of the day I watched movies on the couch and I am very happy that it was my day off. Near the end of the day I was feeling slightly better and Soeur Jensen had offered to take me to office depot so that I could have some of my art printed for my portfolio. I felt like I could do that so we went and did that. At the store the lady who was helping my really liked my art and kept telling me I would be famous; all this did was remind me that flattery will be the end of me and that I need to keep working hard.
After we finished at the store Soeur Jensen asked if I was up for Fantasmic, cause they were playing it tonight instead of Thursday. I felt like I could do that and so we went to it and the show was absolutely amazing. Very thrilling and exciting. After the show we ran into one of my roommates and gave her a ride home.
Well I feel accomplished even though I didn't get that much done. In a way I did and there is more yet to come.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

February 7th 2011

Hey Everyone
I had cake today! My roommate was so sweet she made me tres leche cake. I loved it and we also had candles even though I am pretty sure that we were not allowed but who cares cause we didn't burn down the place and we were responsable and all. Though we did have to light the candles with the oven burner. That was fun (I got a video of it, so I will see if I can download it here.
After that wonderful morning I went to work and during which I ran into two families from Montrael and Quebec. The first family I got so excited I choked and gurgled out the little french I could manage, the lady smiled and said they would be back so that I could practice. The second family I was more prepared and I had a good conversation with them until the end. The lady asked a question and instead of saying heures like it should she said haires, which is Qu'be qoui. Well, lets just say I realized there is a difference between french from france and that of Canada. I couldn't understand the question and she had to repeat herself in english for me. I was a bit thrown again until I realized the difference. But I still wish I could have picked up on it sooner.
Oh well, the evening went smoothely and they have started training me on closing which is fairly simple.
Night has come and I think I am coming down with a cold. blah
oh well, ta ta for now

Monday, February 7, 2011

February 6th, 2011

Hey it was my birthday,
I started the day going to church, then I got home, broke my fast and went to work and didn't get home until one. I never realized how many people have their birthday on this date before until I was telling basically every fifth person happy birthday.
Oh funny story for the day:
A family came into the store (the parents with a 5 yr old girl and a grandma), the small girl immediately went for the Christmas ornaments and wanted them. The parents unsuccessfully attempted to dissuade her with an autograph book. She wouldn't relent at all and finally the father told her 'honey, we are Jewish. We don't have anything to put those on.' She still wouldn't put the ornaments down, the father then said 'what do you want to celebrate Hanukkah or Christmas.' the child responded with lifting up the Christmas ornaments again. At that point the mom took the ornaments and the grandma took the child by the hand and carried her off as the father followed; leaving me laughing under my breath.
I also got to talk with a former roommate that called me around 2am, she waited until five minutes her time to midnight to call, she made me laugh. It was okay she called then cause I really wanted to celebrate my birthday so when I got home another roommate and I put in a movie. Yeah fun party, about half way through she fell asleep and I didn't want to move to get in bed. I can't fall asleep to movies so I didn't go to bed till 4am. It was fun though to do something different.
I got a ton of well wishers for my birthday so that was really nice and I appreciate it.
well tomorrow I am off work and playing and I will try to get some pictures uploaded for you all :)

Sunday, February 6, 2011

February 5th, 2011

Amazing news everyone! My internet is finally working, my roommate's boyfriend is a genious and figured out how to fix it and now my netbeans isn't working so now I can't fix my website but I am still counting my blessings.
Today is Saturday and nothing too exciting happened, except for the comments and actions from a few of the guests that I ran into today. One lady told me that her goal for her children was that they do not grow up to become axe murders, she is setting her goals high and then there is this guy who has memorized the price of a beer because he comes in at least every two hours to buy one. That is one thing I love about this internship; the people. I also got to talk with another cast member from Brazil and we discussed the difference of America and other countries. I swear the mission is coming back in memory more and more.
Well, that is all I remember from yesterday.
ciao

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Febraury 4, 2011

Well I consider myself well established in my job. The first fifteen minutes on the job and I blocked myself from the system, among other things like: I froze the register and kept misfiling the receipts and the lady helping me decided to retrain me cause I am incompetent. But besides feeling like a complete retard I was able to correctly place the shirts in the correct order on the racks. Yeah, I am not surviving very well in the retail world. But at least my manager is taking every moment to crack jokes on my being lds and from Idaho. (he really means no harm)It is just hard cause I want to be sarcastic back but I tend to be extreme in my retorts and I don't want to do more harm then my ignorance and incompetence is showing.
I don't feel too stressed but naturally I think I am cause my subconscious is acting out. I mean through my dreams. The past few night in my dreams I have been fired either through letters or verbally and then last night I had a dream that my ipod was stolen (I wasn't that freaked about it though cause the thing only lasts about two hours before the battery dies). The point is I guess I am stress more then I am showing but I am having a good time learning and getting my footing out there.
I think my main problem is I have a ton of things to accomplish but the due date for these things are so far away I am hardly pressed to get them done and my nature just wants me to stress over them when it really isn't necessary, cause all I got to do is do them. Procrastinating is so easy though.
Ugh, I know what I got to do and I will do it....eventually.
On brighter news, only two more days until my birthday and if I have planed things right, everyone won't know about it. That and I am working on it, maybe they will give me one of the Birthday pins. That will be awesome!
Till next time

Friday, February 4, 2011

Another day where dreams come true

I finally got everything to download to my blog and I got my illustration friday to work. I am really excited about that and after that the day went pretty smoothly.
I kept screwing up at work though but everyone was very supportive and understanding. One of my bosses is from utah and he is a inactive member but he is way fun and he likes to give me a hard time because I went to BYU-I and I know the mormon lingo. Last night as we were closing he came up to me as I stumble through closing excercises and asked if I wanted to be a closer (the person in charge of money count and paper work). I said that would be fine, but I didn't feel ready quite yet. But they said I would be fine in about a month or so. So that is cool.
I need to go get some things done now, and I am sorta wired because an opportunity has cropped up that I really want to take advantage of. (actually something to do with art)
so ta ta for now

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Another Fun Night of Work



Hey everyone, I hope you all enjoyed the pictures. It will not be very often but I shall try.
So basically for work all I did was stocking, for those of you who don't know what that is, it is where you go out into the store find out what is missing, go back into the storage and put the items where they are missing. Sounds hard huh?
Yeah 8 hours of that and I was about to go crazy, but it kept me busy.
Apart from that I am surprisingly enjoying life because I found a scanner and I can use it for my art. I also found the local library and I have already checked out two items. I am not sure why I am in such a good mood today but that has to be it.
Oh on a scary note, I saw my first cockroach today. Yeah, it was lying on our front step, my roommate (the one with me up in the above picture, Sara Biers) was so kind that she got down on all fours and blew it away. (I really wish I could have gotten a picture of it.)
That was fun, hopefully we won't see any more of those nasty dudes.
Well, I am about to miss my bus therefore I got to go.
Everyone have a magical Day :)

The Wilderness Logde



This is the resort where I work, it looks like a Yellowstone lodge. But it is cute and reminds me of home a little


And this is the Mercantile, it is the shop inside of the lodge where I work. Lots of fun!

My Place


This is my cute but sadly white bathroom.


Here is my room, no I am not normally this slobbish, but I only have one blanket and I don't want to fold it nicely!


This is the view from out balcony, if you can't see the little white sign in the foreground it is telling us not to swim, yeah I am pretty sure that there are alligators in the water but it sounds really cool in the night and in the morning.


And the kitchen.

My first picture



Hey Everyone,
Well here goes my picture run. I am going to be posting pictures like no other for a while. Hope you like them. This first one is my first picture I took while in Florida.
Enjoy, I am now a new cast member in it.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Feb. 1, 2011

It was a surprise really how fun Epcot was, I really thought it would be a boring park. But they surprisingly had some fun rides and the fact that I was a single rider got me to the front of the line for most of the rides; which was nice.
So the first of february has come and now... I don't know actually. It is just another month.
Back to what I did this day. Basically walked around, but in the french pavilion I met a guy that was from Lyon, France. That was exciting, well okay it was more of him pointing himself out as from Lyon and then I had to pay for my pain au chocolate but I thought it exciting.
I took some pictures so my next blog will have pics if I can figure out how that works.
At the moment my biggest problem is finding a good printing station and also how to update my portfolio since nothing is working from my computer. It will be fixed though cause I am stubborn enough to do it.
Sorry that was all babble, Anyways after I got back from the park I watched the movie Clue and it made me laugh inside.
Wow, today was boring after all. Okay I will try to remedy that later.
Go out and do something fun yourself.

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Monday or Day off of no vacation

Monday Jan 31, 2011
Last day of January and it was an interestingly uneventful but fun. Basically all I did during the day was get angry with the internet and grocery shopping. I did however help clean the chapel here. I got to meet a bunch more people and guess what one of the people I met was from my mission, that made me excited. I also found one of my fellow counselors from EFY and a friend from my old relief society who used to make me cakes. So I am not so alone as I thought I was before. This ward as well seems very friendly and lively bordering on immature but enjoyable. I am still trying to find footing here but I have already made a couple local friends, one being Mike. He seems to be my constant ride everywhere which is nice but he is a very nice friend to have.
I wanted to go to down town Disney today but I ran out of time but I did head over to property control. This is where Disney sells all its broken outdated things. So a thirty dollar shirt will be only seven dollars. Nice, discounts! I can't wait to make the quilt that I am planning on making.
Sorry this is boring, I am going to epcot tomorrow (technically today) and hopefully I will have something more interesting to share.
signing off :)